Post Six: Agave Macroacantha

 

I acquired this Agave upon a visit to an excellent private nursery called William’s Cactus in Pontefract. I found the owners to be fantastic guys who were passionate about their plants. It was from here I was given many Echeverias they had inherited in a job lot they got from a nursery which was closing down due to the owners ill health. Some etoliated and badly over grown the guys had neither the time nor the space to take on the challenge so they gladly let me have them. I felt incredibly cheeky at this as I had only gone along with my best mate as he was buying more species of Ferocactus for his collection (an amazing collection by the way). I knew I had to buy something to say thanks as it were. It didn’t take me more than a millisecond to decide I was having this awesome plant when I saw it. It is gorgeous. Gloss black teeth and spikes on a rich leaf green body. I was blown away by how beauty and aggression can exist so effortlessly in one plant.

agave-macroacantha

The Agaves span is approximately 13-14″ currently and 11-12″ high. Little if any growth has been noticed since it was acquired in April-May of this year. I’m not surprised though as these are slow growing plants. Care has been unproblematic, it is watered every 10 days or so and gets a good drink. We are now into September so this will be slowing up dramatically for when I relocate it to an insulated greenhouse where it will remain pretty much dry until spring.

I will include some links to descriptions below the pictures.

Wikipedia description

Dave’s Garden description

Succulent Guide description

Leave a comment